Kentucky Tree Week

The Importance of City Trees 

In this week’s special Tree Week line-up, From the Woods Today will discuss why city trees are important and how to take care of them, National Forest Products Week and information about a Maple School held this fall.  The weekly webcast program is conducted by the UK Forestry and Natural Resources Extension team, co-hosted by Reneé Williams and Billy Thomas.
Join this webinar at: https://uky.zoom.us/j/92172044126. This event will begin at 11 AM ET/10 AM CT. 

The 10 Best Trees for Small Gardens (+ Plant Swap + Free Tree Give-away)

It’s Tree Week in Kentucky! Tonight we will discuss some the best smaller trees to fit any landscape, tree planting tips and how to care for your newly planted tree. Join the Master Gardeners for a discussion on selecting and planting small trees for smaller landscapes. Plus we will have free trees to give away. And its plant swap time – so divide some of your perennials or bag up some seeds and bring for trading.

Identifying Kentucky’s Trees

With over 120 different trees species learning how to identify trees in Kentucky can be challenging but we can help you make it rewarding. Join us and learn how to use a dichotomous tree leaf key and take the challenge out of tree id.
This event is kid-friendly and handicap accessible.
Pre-register here: https://uky.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_wsgpyjY6RT6VEwVuaYpNuw. This event will begin at 12 PM ET/11 AM CT.

Tree Trivia Takeover at the Tavern

6:00pm — Tree Trivia Night @ Main Street Tavern Restaurant 801 S. Main Street. Test your knowledge of trees and win prizes. Of course, the questions all have a tree theme, but you certainly do not need to be a professor of horticulture or botany to answer these. In fact, it is probably better if you are not. Enjoy dinner and a lively evening of friendly competition!